AWR Board of Directors

Gary Macfarlane, President 
Gary is current Forest Watch Director with Friends of the Clearwater in Moscow, ID. Gary has been involved in wildland and wildlife conservation issues for over 20 years.

Michael Garrity, Executive Director – Treasurer Mike ensures that AWR programs are based as much in sound economics as they are in biological science.

Paul Edwards

Scott Berry

Steve Kelly


AWR Board of Advisors

Stewart Brandborg A former executive director of The Wilderness Society and a key figure in passage of the 1964 Wilderness Act and the Alaska Lands Act.

Tim Coleman Executive director of the Kettle Range Conservation Group in Republic, Washington.

Dr. John Craighead World-renowned scientist honored by The National Geographic Society. He pioneered grizzly bear research and is founder of the Craighead Wildlife-Wildlands Institute.

Derek Craighead

Jim Dayton Founder of Wilderness Watch and has several decades experience in the conservation movement.

Dr. Charles Jonkel Internationally recognized bear biologist with over 70 research papers on grizzly bear, polar bear, and black bear. He is the founder of the International Wildlife Film Festival.

Ron Mitchell Director of the Idaho Sporting Congress.

Arlene Montgomery Program Director for Friends of the Wild Swan. She has been active in Northern Rockies regional environmental issues since 1988.

Chuck Pezeshki Professor at WSU in mechanical engineering with a strong interest in
environmental protection and author of the book Wild to the Last: Environmental Conflict in the Clearwater Country.

Kathy Togni An attorney with long experience in environmental law including involvement with the Friends of the Wild Swan.

Howie Wolke Wilderness guide and author of Wilderness On the Rocks and co-author of “The Big Outside.”

George Wuerthner Widely published writer, photographer, and ecologist.